My Not So Glorious Return to Biking

Remember when I got a bike and was in love?

Well, since then, I’ve stopped riding for fun and worked up in my mind that I don’t like cycling, that it’s hard, that I’m not good and that it’s just something I put up with for the glory of being a triathlete. (But, I’m *fingers crossed* doing another kind of triathlon this summer that doesn’t include biking, it includes awesome!)

Red Rock released the course map for my upcoming triathlon, and while it has the same start location as my last one (we lack for water a bit here in the desert, in case you hadn’t heard), the run and bike portions are different, which I’m excited about because I didn’t want to just do two loops of the same course, but the bike course looks intimidating!

I started considering dropping to the sprint distance. I wondered who I could convince to do the bike part for me relay-style. Then someone’s who pretty good with the harsh truths said something to the effect of, “why don’t you just start riding your bike more? You’re a good swimmer, so skip some of those workouts and take your bike out and actually ride.”

I’ve been trainering and spinning it up and the bike hasn’t seen natural sunlight in quite some time.

Unfortunately, it had flat tires. Not for lack of trying, I have NO IDEA how to fill my tires. I got all the right equipment, but couldn’t make the adapter and the pump and the tire work together. So, and I have no problem admitting this, I put on my best cute, but helpless girl act and took my tire into a bike shop to learn. To learn…I wasn’t just expecting someone to do it for me!

They showed me the front tire and told me how much to pump it up and told me to check the pressure before each ride, especially as it’s getting warmer…oh, so you mean, the fact that this is the first time I’ve filled them in a year is not a good thing?

Once I did the back tire on my own, I took it out for my first ride on Thursday and I rode very slowly up hills and I have no clue about the gears and at one point my chain fell off. It was not pretty, but I got it done.

I reminded myself that it was training and I was preparing my body for wonderful things (because if I had considered it a workout, it would have just been torture). It took me about 52 minutes to do 10 miles, so at that pace I realize I’m going to be on the bike for way too damn long during the race, but I’m building up my mileage for the next two weeks and I know I’ll at least get it done, regardless if it’s pretty or fast or whatever else.

3 thoughts on “My Not So Glorious Return to Biking

  1. Girl! It doesn’t matter how long it takes you, you can do this! Just try to get out there and ride for fun, and don’t put too much pressure on yourself, and before you know it, you’ll be kicking ass on that thing!

  2. Good job getting back on your bike even though it was tough! You can totally do the Olympic distance – once you spend a few more miles on the bike you’ll get your confidence back and kick some bootay at the race!

    PS – did you do the Lozilu Mud Run on Saturday? A girl that looks shockingly similar to you parked next to me but was too quick for me to say hello :)

  3. Great job getting back on the bike, and getting your booty to the bike store to learn how to pump your tires. Please make sure you learn how to change a flat tire also – back tires are intense!
    I just had pedals installed on my bike so i am SUPER enrvous to ride my bike this weekend. Learning curve, here I come!

Leave a Reply

