Sugar, Sugar

Despite my sweet tooth, I can admit sugar is B.A.D. and I do try to limit it.  Earlier this year, I actually started to feel when I’d overdone it with the sugar in my congested sinuses, which led me to research the connection and try to reduce my sugar intake as well as limit other possible offenders – dairy and wheat.

Every now and then, I need a little reminder. A few months ago, it was Kris Carr’s Crazy Sexy Diet and today it was Dr. Lustig.

Who?! Today on Facebook, a friend posted this transcript from Alec Baldwin’s radio show in which he interviews Dr. Lustig, who is on somewhat of an anti-sugar crusade, especially as it concerns children.

Side note: As I type this, I’m watching the little girls on Toddlers and Tiaras DOWN Pixie Stix.  Ugh. She wants to be Miss America and her mom is about the size of four Miss Americas combined.  Yes, maybe that’s mean, but what example is she setting for her daughter and what road does she think she’s sending the poor girl down?!

Anyway, I totally blame Dr. Lustig for me checking every label at the grocery store today.

Pop quiz: Which has less sugar – cinnamon raisin bread, everything bagel thins or cinnamon raisin english muffins?

I guessed the bagel thins, but ended up taking home the english muffins because they actually had the least amount of sugar per serving! Total elimination is tough, but I’ll take the lesser of the evils at this point.

I also blame him for deciding for the 64th time to stop drinking fake sugar in my Coke Zeros and Diet Cokes. One day at a time, right?!

Does sugar intake concern you? How do you limit it?

I’m totally guilty of having a weakness for ice cream this HOT summer…do you have suggestions for sugar-free (or low sugar) alternatives?

2 thoughts on “Sugar, Sugar

  1. I figured out how to comment! Anyway, as a friend, I have to say, I read this, and then I ate a chocolate croissant. But I do agree with you, and I try not to eat too much sugar either. Also, would a smoothie be a good ice cream substitute? Happy summer!!

  2. If you have an iPhone I suggest the “shop well” app. You can add any settings you like – mine tells me when there is added sugar or dairy!

Leave a Reply

