That time I couldn’t.

Can’t is a dirty word among athletes (and bloggers…and teachers don’t seem to particularly care for it either), but earlier today I remembered a time I couldn’t.

During either my freshman or sophomore year of college, I came home for Spring Break and took a day trip to Sedona. The idea was to rent mountain bikes and ride around the red rock mountains, but after just 20 minutes, I couldn’t. The gears might have been wrong on the bike, but my body just felt like it was working way too hard and I wanted to throw up. And also curl up and die.

Getting my skinny 18-year-old butt kicked on a mountain bike wasn’t an aha moment that made me focus on wellness (that came still a few years later), but remembering it today was one of those…yay, look how far I’ve come! moments.

A few years later I started running, then I worked up the courage to step into my first spin class and I started to see throwing up as a good thing! I used to judge how good of a class it was based on how many times I felt like I was going to throw up (don’t worry, I never actually did).

I guess I thought of that Sedona bike ride today because I’ve just been feeling unfocused lately. I’ve been pretty good at keeping up with workouts, so we’ll call it training for life.

I work out for a lot of reasons – to train for races, to feel sane, to indulge my sweet tooth every now and then and looking hot in a bikini doesn’t hurt – and now I’ll add to the list…I train for life. If the opportunity came up, my strong body could take me mountain biking, out for an all-morning hike or keep up in a random fitness class and let’s be honest, sometimes it’s just nice to not get winded on the stairs!

Do you feel unfocused if you’re not training for something specific? Have you gotten in shape after getting your butt kicked doing something that should be pretty easy?

One thought on “That time I couldn’t.

  1. I love looking back on the times when I couldn’t. Two years ago I couldn’t hike up Telegraph Pass to the top. One year ago, I had never even run a 5k! It’s so great to be able to look at progression and realize that even though you may feel a little bit off, you have still come so far! I do feel a little bit out of whack if I’m not training for something or working toward a goal. I already have race after race planned for after New York! I guess that’s just the kind of person I am now :-) And yes, looking hot in a bikini definitely doesn’t hurt the cause!

Leave a Reply

