A Good Start

too cute! buy it here!

For some reason I felt a lot of pressure to start this blog on 1/11/11. But then I didn’t. And that’s okay.

There’s no perfect day to start something GOOD. January 1 is no better than March 9. Monday is no better than Thursday. The best day is the day you decide you want this GOOD thing in your life.  And who doesn’t want GOOD things in their life?

This blog as a new, GOOD thing in my life.  It’s a place to focus on GOOD things, like wellness (and if you want to know why, check out my About page) and anything else that takes up my mindspace day-to-day.

In trying to find a url for this pretty little thing, I ran into a funny little problem.  A lot of the addresses I tried were taken. Um, you mean I’m NOT the first person to think that would make an awesome name for a blog?!  Well, fine.  I conceded that someone with such an amazing idea for a blog name probably writes a pretty great blog, so off I skipped to those sites to check them out.  And NOTHING.

They literally still had the first boiler plate blog up!  That’s like getting all excited and joining a gym and paying for it monthly and sitting at home thinking about how you should go.  Should is an awful word, similar to try.  When I hear myself say either, I shudder a bit. 

When I think of should, I think of all my favorite people hanging out and then looking around and wondering, “Where’s Meg?” 

“Oh, no one called her to tell her that we’re running, eating burritos and getting massages while watching Oprah.”  (Why, yes, those are, in fact, some of my favorite things and yes, I know it would be quite difficult to do them all at once, but seriously, how awesome would it be?)

“Oops, well someone should call her.”  Too little, too late, amigos. Can we all now agree that should kinda sucks?

When you start a blog, it’s because you want to.  You have something to say and you want a place to say it.  Joining a gym is the same.  You join a gym because you want to.  You want to improve your health.  You want to look better and feel better, both physically and emotionally. 

Bucket lists, lists of new year’s resolutions, 101 lists (gosh, I love lists) are also filled with wants.  Everything is there with a purpose.

So do it, go for it, get it.  Don’t downgrade your want into a should. Get these GOOD things in your life.

Afterall, what better day is there than today?

3 thoughts on “A Good Start

  1. Pingback: New Month Resolutions « Pretty Active

  2. Pingback: 30ish Days at a Time « Pretty Active

  3. Pingback: Naked Commitment |

Leave a Reply

