Seven Summits – Camelback

Camelback, 2.3 miles

Camelback is king.  It’s the highest peak in Phoenix, sits pretty central and is recognizable based on the fact that it looks like a, well, camel’s back.  We’re super original here.  To be honest with you though, sometimes I see it, sometimes I don’t.

 
{from}

Yesterday, I told my boss I was planning on hiking Camelback this weekend and he delighted me with stories of the little creatures he happened across when he used to hike it pretty regularly.  Um, yeah, like rattlesnakes and one huge ass Gila monster.


{from}

Oh, hey, Gila monster.  You go ahead and do you.  I’ll just be over here peeing my pants.

But, he (my boss, not the Gila monster) also recommended I go up the Cholla Trail, or the back of Camelback, for a great – slightly longer – trail, smaller crowds and, of course, an amazing view from the top, so I did.

I woke up early.  Like ridiculously early.  Like grotesquely early for a Saturday morning.  Not even on purpose.  But, it worked out well because I was able to get to the mountain right around sunrise.

That was the last bit of the “nice” trail.  Things got nasty after that.  I don’t have the best sense of direction and there really weren’t that many people on the trail to follow.  Yay for these little blue spots to point me in the right direction, although at times, I missed them and ended up staring over the edge.

 

Going up, up, up.

It was super windy at the top! The sky looked completely different in every direction!

And then it was back down the camel’s back.  Doesn’t it look like a totally different day?!

Camelback was beautiful AND challenging.  I was kinda intimidated heading into it and slightly anxious while climbing, but I’m thrilled I conquered the king!

[It’s been raining for about five hours now so I’m definitely glad my internal alarm clock woke me up in time to head out early.  I hope it clears by tomorrow!]

One thought on “Seven Summits – Camelback

  1. Pingback: Return to Camelback |

Leave a Reply

