T is for Thursday. And Tempo.

My legs have not wanted to participate in tempo runs since I started my Pat’s Run training, but today was different.  I bounced out of bed at 4:30am and completed my first successful (well, mostly) tempo run!

After a warm-up (aka, jogging to Blockbuster to return my latest movie), I did 3.33 miles in 30:08.  If I can do that pace on race day, I’ll come in just under my goal of 38 for the 4.2 miles! 

HOWEVER…I say it was “mostly” successful because there may have been some pausing and walking it off at the miles (I love the auto-lap feature on my Garmin that chirps at every mile – quite helpful when it’s still dark).  A few times I wanted to call it good, but I was feeling particularly stubborn this morning and as cliche as it is, I wanted to finish what I started – 30 minutes at race pace one way or another!

I feel good about it and being just about four weeks out, there’s definitely time for improvement! 

Now, I’m off to wreck my training* for tomorrow with a pint (or two).  Happy St. Patty’s Day! 

{from}

* Tomorrow calls for cross training (hello, Meyer) and strength.  That sesh will definitely NOT be taking place at 4:30am!

Leave a Reply

