Junk

I woke up this morning at 4:30.  Then I realized that was insane because Wednesdays are for junk runs and I’m slow, but I definitely don’t need 90 minutes to run the four miles I had planned. 

So I checked my email, reset my alarm and went back to sleep.  Did you catch that?  What can I say?  They don’t call it a Crackberry for nothing.

Now, there really is no need to check my email first thing because do you know what kind of emails get sent in the middle of the night?  Junk emails.  If I get another email telling me my information probably got jacked (thanks, Epsilon), I’ll scream. 

However, last night I also received a message from my first love.

And by first love, of course I mean the organization that put on my first 10K last fall and gave me the race bug.  They’re back with details for this year’s race

Although skin cancer and sun protection is a cause near and dear to my heart, I had kind of already ruled out doing that race in favor of others.  You know, races that won’t remind me that last year I was hung over (maybe still a little drunk) on race morning aren’t run through the ghetto of Mesa.  Plus, Shun the Sun is shortly after what I’m referring to as the month o’weddings and I probably won’t have the time to train for it.

Still that email apparently got me thinking and when I went back to sleep I had another one of those weird dreams that reminds me why I shouldn’t fall back asleep after intending to wake up for a workout.  It was race morning and I was late picking up my packet and some mom with an Ariel – you know, The Little Mermaid – lunch box was taking her sweet time in front of me and I was essentially missing the race.

Which, I guess was because at the time I was missing my junk run, but I woke up again at 5 (yes, I did get a lot accomplished in that half hour, thank you for noticing) and headed out.  My junk runs have been tough lately and today was no exception.  My legs were screaming at me that I need some more QT with my foam roll plus I thought it might be chilly, but three minutes in I was ready to swap my capris and tee for shorts and a tank.

My goal was under 40 minutes based on a Facebook status from a runner friend (competitive much?) lamenting that his first run back took him 38:something for four miles and made him want to throw in the towel altogether.  I’d take it.  Like I said, I’m slow and I’m okay with that.  Sometimes it’s a tough run and that’s fine.  Somehow I still find it fun.  I’ve come to terms with the fact that running is essential to my wellness and I’m not talking just physical health! 

Oh, and of course I finished under 40, rocking reverse splits, which is my favorite new personal challenge during my runs.

2 thoughts on “Junk

  1. I was going to say you were crazy for getting up at 4:30AM but then read that you went back to bed, YAY! 🙂 I always have a bad habit of checking my iPhone in the mornings too before resetting my alarm and going back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

