Running > Sleep

You know what the nicest thing someone can say to you is?

“Wow, you look tired.”

Yep, got that one the other day at work. In my defense,  I go to work at 6:45 in the morning.  I had just walked in and I was still sleepy. 

And in my boss’s defense, men need constant refresher courses in how to talk to women I usually have been up for two hours and worked out so I’m wide awake by the time I get to work and let’s be honest, I usually avoid coworkers for the first hour anyway.

Pre-work workouts have all but become extinct around these parts.  I’m going to bed plenty early (hello, falling asleep after getting in bed to catch up on Glee on Hulu at 8pm), so maybe it’s restless sleep due to a tight muscle/pinched nerve in my neck or allergies or a combination, maybe it’s the fact that my new phone has two alarms, so if I turn off the run alarm, I’ll still be woken up by my work alarm. 

But I’m going to go with:  I can’t get out of bed to work out before work lately because I’ve gotten out of the habit.  Because I’m thinking more about sleep when that first alarm goes off instead of “you are going to rock this run.” 

My morning get-outta-bed-to-workout mantra used to be, “you’ll regret it if you don’t, but you won’t regret it if you do,” which is still quite true, but after years of AM workouts, I also know that THIS is true:  “you’ll feel better after the run than you would after more sleep.”

So this morning.  I snoozed for a bit, but I got up and went running.  An ugly run, for sure, but a run nonetheless.

While enjoying the sights and sounds of a Scottsdale springtime dawn, I contemplated how sometimes it feels like my self-worth is tied to my motivation to work out, which waxes and wanes but that’s okay, because while getting up and working out makes me feel better, it’s simply those lovely endorphins, not an actual comment on my always-awesomesauce self.

The run loosened up my neck and I’m feeling less puffy and stuffy from allergies today and I finally went into work bright-eyed and bushy-tailed again.

Leave a Reply

