Happy National Running Day!

It’s National Running Day, y’all!  I hope you have selected a party outfit more appropriate than this:

I’m celebrating by…not running!  I’ve completely come back after the knee injury that bugged me after my last race and have been doing about 30 miles a week.  I’m thrilled with my runs and my paces and my fueling, but I’m running five or six days a week. 

Overtraining – especially when there’s no real purpose – isn’t smart (and have been having issues with shin splints), so I’m taking June to keep my mileage up, but take my running days down.  I’m also adding back strength training and yoga.  I think both are super important for injury prevention and to prepare me for tri training, which starts next month!

Have you run today?  If not, that’s fine, but let’s do it tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Happy National Running Day!

  1. Triathlon training sounds so exciting! I did 6.5 miles today, then came home to find out it was National Running Day! Glad I did my part to celebrate. 🙂 I try not to run too often – I would run every day if I could, but I’m nervous about injuries so I limit it to every other day, with long runs only once a week (the other runs I focus on speed over distance and usually do intervals).

    • That’s an awesome Running Day run! It’s definitely tough to balance the love of running (endorphins, accomplishment, all that good stuff) with listening to your body’s needs as well.

Leave a Reply

