Fixing My Bike…and Putting Off My Brick

I was so excited for my brick that I couldn’t sleep any longer.  Just kidding…I have no clue why I’m up so darn early.  I do have quite a to-do list for the day, but no one told my brain that ideally it doesn’t kick off until 8.  Oh well. 

I could have started earlier, because I got the adapter piece for my bike pump yesterday – and then wandered around the store for 10 more minutes trying to remember the other thing I needed before giving up, only to remember two hours later that it was ear drops…the pool water in my ears is obviously affecting my memory – but unfortunately, I either have no clue how to use the adapter piece (because it’s not working like the guy said) or my tube is actually wrecked, not just flat. 

Remember that time I took a bike maintenance 101 class at the local REI?  Yeah, me neither.  In my defense, it was kind of geared toward people who had at least a bit of a clue about anything bike-related, call it a 201 class, where I needed more of a remedial lesson.

There was one guy in the class who was terribly sexist in just about everything he said, which earned him quite a few eye rolls and groans from the women there, but he did say that the good old boys at his bike shop would pretty much do anything for female cyclists since the poor, little things can’t do much for themselves. 

(No need to point out the obvious here, that I apparently can’t do these things for myself…I just want someone to teach me so I can do it next time.  I’ll listen this time, promise.)

The good news is, I’m female!  Yay!  The bad news is, I might have to either go back in time or to the backwoods for that treatment, but I suppose it’s worth a shot. 

Add it to the to-do list!  The morning news just turned to cartoons, so I can’t procrastinate it anymore…let’s brick!

Leave a Reply

