My First Triathlon: What I Wore

One of my preoccupations leading up to the race was what the heck I was going to wear!  I read blogs of other triathletes, asked people I know who had done them and asked at a local tri store, but it kind of all came down to “whatever you want to wear.”

So…here’s what I wanted to wear and it worked for me.  I’m not a fan of reposting the same pictures over and over, so check out my outfits on my tri recap post.

My two-piece TYR suit was perfect for a warmish lake swim, provided a nice base and let’s be honest, it was cute!  I felt much better in that than I would have in a one-piece or tri suit and feeling good is the first step to being great! 

There is usually one big issue that women dressing for tris face.  Well, two.  That’s where I’m lucky.  I don’t bounce or flop or have any fear of poppage.  There were plenty of women doubling up with bras under their suits, but my little top stayed in place and kept the girls in place throughout all three phases.

I also wore the race-provided swim cap – pink for my wave, but a pink that totally didn’t match my suit! – and my Speedo Vanquisher “competition” mirrored goggles (competition-schmompetition, I wore them all during training too).  I couldn’t see a darn thing in the lake, but they were mostly comfortable and stayed put.

At transition one, I threw on medium-length bike shorts and a yellow tank.  The medium-length (okay medium being like, 1.5 inches maybe) was so that my thighs wouldn’t rub on my seat and the yellow top was so my mom would be able to easily spot me!  Neither were moisture-wicking fabrics so they definitely picked up the wetness from my suit and I was a little concerned about chafing, but not enough to apply body glide at transition because as a spectator sign I saw said, “Chafe now, brag later!”

I DID wear moisture-wicking, cushioned arch-compression socks.  I also wore my regular old running shoes for both the bike and the run.

Of course, on the bike I wore my helmet and on the run I wore the swag bag Headsweats visor.

So, there you have it.  As I said, it worked for me.  One wonderful thing about tris is that all the sports are pretty basic and yes, you could go all out with a tri suit and a wetsuit and a fancy bike and clip-in shoes and Vibrams, but you could also go very basic with regular training clothes and a second-hand hybrid bike and get just as much of a rush!

One thought on “My First Triathlon: What I Wore

  1. Pingback: 30ish Days at a Time « Pretty Active

Leave a Reply

