As-You-Like-It Veggie Enchiladas

Fall makes me want to eat home cooked meals. Owning a home makes me want to be a little more domestic. Not eating very well for the last month or so + taking a post-tri training break for the last week has me wanting to clean up my diet.

I bookmarked a veggie enchilada recipe from Runner’s Kitchen last year and finally decided Sunday was the night. Originally I was thinking of adding chicken, but the produce section at Safeway looked particularly lovely today (and crowded…apparently everyone is jumping on the healthy food train, yay!) and I picked up a few veggies that I thought would be good mixed in with my favorite black beans.

Here’s how my version ended up:

4 whole wheat tortillas
1 can black beans, drained
1 green bell pepper
1 zucchini
a few handfuls of corn kernels
small can green enchilada sauce
salsa

Chop and start sauteing the pepper and zucchini.  Add corn and finally the beans for just a bit.  Pour some sauce in a casserole dish and scoop the filling into each tortilla – mine were soft taco size, but burrito size would have probably been better for the amount of filling it made and to get them wrapped up – roll and tuck the ends.  Place in the dish.  Pour more sauce over top.  Cook at 350 for 25 minutes.  Top with salsa and serve.

I really don’t remember the last time I cooked a real meal; it was definitely the first in my new kitchen!  Since I was there getting comfortable, I also got busy cooking some chicken for take-to-work lunch salads for the week.  I love Sunday cooking and the leftovers I have stocking my fridge this week!

Leave a Reply

