My Race Calendar

I indulge in a few race superstitions.  I don’t wear the race shirt during the race because the shirt is to show that you’ve completed the race and wearing it before you actually have completed the race is like asking to trip and break your ankle on the course.  At the UMOM walk, I was nervous putting on the shirt, even though it literally was a walk.

I only sign up for one race at a time because if I have more than that coming up, I will no doubt injure myself in the first one and be unable to run the next.  This actually is more based on my experience.  In the past, race day has taken me out of training for at least a few weeks, although, since I’ve started yoga, it’s less of an issue.

Even so, that doesn’t stop me from getting excited about building my race calendar.  I don’t want to burn out on training or the races, but as of right now, I’m planning on:

Volunteering at the Women’s Half on November 5th
PRing at the Phoenix 10K on November 6th
Volunteering at Ironman on November 20th (and then watching the – from what I hear – amazing 11pm to midnight finishers)
Cheering on my GOTR team at the Fiesta Bowl 5K on December 5th
Dominating the IronGirl 5K Scottsdale on December 11th
PRing at the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half on January 15th
Volunteering and/or participating at one or both of Red Rock’s spring tris on April 15th and May 5th

I know that my motivation may change and I’m staying open to any opportunities that are not yet on my radar – races in different states? countries? sure! – and that’s there’ a sizeable gap in the spring, but I certainly like the looks of it right now.

One thought on “My Race Calendar

  1. Pingback: My Phoenix 10K « Pretty Active

Leave a Reply

