My Tri Takeaways

In the last two weeks since my triathlon, I’ve had time to reflect on my experience and what I learned from it.  Here are a few “when you know better, you do better” tips I picked up:

What went not so great:  I cut it pretty close to transition being closed.
What I’ll do next time:  Give myself way more time than I think I need and pay attention to road closures!

What went not so great:  My arms were tired before the swim even started.
What I’ll do next time:  If it’s a mid-lake start, train a little for treading.

What went not so great:  My tank top and socks were inside out when I got to transition!
What I’ll do next time:  Take time BEFORE the race to make sure everything is right-side out.

What went not so great:  I took too much time fixing my hair at each transition (yes, I know, I’m a total girl).
What I’ll do next time:  Braids.

What went not so great:  Once on my bike, I noticed my wheel lock had popped open.
What I’ll do next time:  If it was left overnight, check the bike when I get there in the morning (with all the extra time I give myself!) and again before leaving T1.

What went not so great:  I was thirsty!
What I’ll do next time:  Have water at transition and get a bottle holder on my bike.

What went not so great:  I have no clue how to work my bike gears.
What I’ll do next time:  Figure them out and spend more time training on my bike than on a spin bike.

What went not so great:  I took walk breaks (and I’m pretty disappointed in that since it was just a 5K).
What I’ll do next time:  Pace myself better and most importantly (for ALL legs), prepare myself mentally for race day just as much as physically.

A lot of the other stuff I learned during the race just needed to be experienced so I can know what to expect next time

I think that’s about the last of what I have to say about my first triathlon experience, but I am so excited for my next opportunity to improve my time and/or tackle a longer distance!

One thought on “My Tri Takeaways

  1. Pingback: 30ish Days at a Time « Pretty Active

Leave a Reply

