Workout Giant: Pre-Work Yoga

I used to be such a morning workout snob. I only wanted to workout in the morning and if I didn’t, it was sooo hard for me to do it later in the day.

Training for races got me over that because I knew the workouts had to be done one way or another and when longish runs were scheduled on weekdays, it was suck it up and wake up at 4am or suck it up and do it after work, so I learned to workout after work.

Yoga also got me out of my morning workout rut because I had to go when the classes were and most were in the early evening.  However, since joining my gym over the summer, there’s been one class that’s piqued my interest. The only yoga class they offer in the early morning is at 5:30 on Mondays. It totally appeals to my desire to get in a good workout and have the rest of the day to do other things, but it’s at 5:30! On Monday!

I finally decided to do it yesterday and knowing I’d be pretty disappointed in myself if I didn’t, I actually got up with my alarm, no excuses.

It wasn’t as crowded as their other classes, so it was workshoppy in a good way. The flows were great, but I found it a little difficult to push myself that early. I was definitely not very loose, which was my concern about hopping out of bed and into downward dog in the first place, and although this level of class is supposed to be slightly heated, it really wasn’t, so I didn’t have much help getting any looser.

I call it a workout giant because it’s something I’ve wanted to do, but have been intimidated to try for a while, so I let the jump rope circle a couple times. I’m glad I finally jumped in and it’s a nice option for those times I have a packed post-work schedule, but if I have the time, I’ll probably stick to my night class where the instructor plays too-loud music and sweats on me, but hey, that’s supposed to be a blessing, right?

Leave a Reply

