The Battle of 1000 Miles

Sometimes I’m quite stubborn – my relentless pursuit of seven in seven five made that painfully (to my booty) obvious – and sometimes I’m totally easy going. There’s really no telling which Meg is going to show up to the party. Case in point, in January, I got the brilliant idea to run 1000 miles in 2011. As of January 1, that’s totally reasonable, just under 20 miles a week!

But, then I had to take time off after both my half-marathon and Pat’s Run for injuries (yet, I had only a day of recover post-tri…thank you, yoga!), not to mention training for race season left me burnt out, it was hot as hell for the last five months. 

I could go on with the excuses if you need me to, but it comes down to the fact that halfway through October I’m at 593 miles and I don’t really care.

With two-and-a-half months left, it’s just not going to happen. Sure, I could run five miles.  Literally every single day.  For the rest of the year.  But, I guess I’m just being realistic.

Plus, my athletic priorities have changed. I still really enjoy running, but even in training for three different distance races in November, December and January, I don’t plan on running much more than three times a week. I don’t want to get injured and I want to have time to enjoy other things.

So, easy-going Meg won the Battle of 1000 Miles, but I’m sure there are plenty of other things for stubborn Meg to get uptight about right around the corner.  Plus, there’s always 2012!

Leave a Reply

