The Best Weirdest Thing I Ever Put on My Face

True to form, the universe sent me just what I needed, just when I needed it. About a week before my sister’s wedding with thoughts of make up trials and eye shadow colors dancing through my head, I read on Emily’s blog that she had just been in a wedding and used Monistat Soothing Care Chafing Relief Powder-Gel as a makeup primer. Totally weird, but if it’s on the internet, it’s worth a shot, right?!

A quick search to reassure me that my face would NOT turn Bayside maroon led me to understand that it’s not Monistat Monistat, it’s part of their skin care line and basically it’s designed to reduce chub rub by creating a dry barrier on the skin.  It creates the same barrier on your face, sealing in the moisture from your face lotion and creating a smooth base for your makeup.

It’s not thick or heavy or oily – starts as a gel and rubs to a powder - and doesn’t have any noticeable smell AND, the best part…it really does keep makeup looking fresh all night long!  I don’t wear a ton of makeup and normally by the end of the workday or the end of a night out, my face looks completely naked, but I felt great about how my makeup looked all night long at both parties.

How does it work? The gel is made with the same key ingredient (dimethicone) as MAC primer and sells for less than $5 at Target, thus the appeal.  I found it at the first store I went to, right with the feminine care products.  (Isn’t it funny the aisles you used to be embarrassed to walk down or the products you never wanted to hand to the cashier that you really could care less about the older you get?!)

So, yes, it’s the weirdest thing I ever put on my face, but it might just also be the best thing (tied with Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash Redness Soothing Facial Cleanser…my skin has been incredible since I started using this).  I even got another bridesmaid to try it…spreading the good word everywhere I go!

Leave a Reply

