Pumpkinpalooza

I don’t go crazy for pumpkin stuff. Well, except a few years ago I had pumpkin cheesecake from CPK that was awesome.

And I usually head to Starbucks for a pumpkin spice latte as soon as they’re out for the season, except this year, I realized I don’t really know how to order the damn thing  – I’m not okay with having to ask a barista to NOT put whipped cream on my coffee because, well, it’s coffee and whipped cream shouldn’t be an option – and what I really want anyway is my regular drink, an Americano, with pumpkin spice flavor.  So now I know.

Anyway, I really don’t think of myself as one of the pookie for pumpkin types, until this happened:

Those are pumpkin scones btw. I made them and drank that last night after this happened:

Staying in won out. When making a training schedule, I think it’s important to know yourself. I know that as my day moves along, my chances of working out get slimmer, which is why morning workouts and straight-from-work workouts work best for me.

My official training for my next race doesn’t start until Christmas Day, but until then, I do have a plan that is meant to keep me sane during the holiday season and on track to be able to start the training without starting from square one.

Based on my recent acceptance that the 7:15 class doesn’t work for me and changing priorities and responsibilities in my life, I’m going to be revising that schedule because it’s way better than being frustrated and disappointed that I’m not following it.

Anyway, back to the scones.  I found this recipe on The Granola Chronicles early in the season:

Ingredients
3/4 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/4 cup Greek yogurt
1 teaspoons baking soda
4 cups white whole wheat flour
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1 cup butter
1 egg
additional sugar & cinnamon for sprinkling

Blend the pumpkin, yogurt and baking soda. Set aside.
In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Cut in the butter, and then stir in the pumpkin mixture and egg until just moistened. 
Place the dough on a floured surface and knead briefly. Split dough into half and shape each half into a circle that is 3/4″ thick. Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon. Cut each evenly into six wedges and place on a lightly greased baking sheet 2″ apart. 
Bake at 350 for 23-25 minutes until the tops are golden brown.

I held on to it until a few weeks ago when I made a quasi-fail half-batch.  They came out somewhere in between muffins and scones because I added extra pumpkin and yogurt because they seemed too dry.  Yes, I know that’s kind of the idea. 

I probably wouldn’t have made them again, except the recipe only calls for part of the can of pumpkin, so I decided to take another shot at the scones to use up what I had left and made a full batch this time. 

Patience is a virtue, so I therapeutically kneaded until it was combined instead of tossing more wet ingredients at it to hurry it along.  And this time, I got scones!  While I don’t necessarily recommend pairing them with pumpkin beer (coffee is really the way to go), don’t knock it until you try it!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkinpalooza

  1. Agreed! Either I get my exercise in in the morning or on my way home from work. Its not happening once I get home!

    Scones look delicious!

  2. Pumpkin beer! I hadn’t thought about that — that sounds awesome!

    On a more serious note, I like this line: “When making a training schedule, I think it’s important to know yourself.” You’re absolutely right … the “best” schedule is the one that works for you. A theoretical “best” is no good if its not realistic.

Leave a Reply

