Girls on the Run 5K

I can’t believe the fall season of Girls on the Run is over already! We went from after-school practices in September when it was still over 100 degrees to race day on one of the coldest weekends of the year (in the high-30s at the start)! But everyone bundled up and we survived.

The Maricopa County program had 500 girls this season and the end of the year race was the Fiesta Bowl Half/5K in Scottsdale (in the spring they host their own, but in the fall, they participate in a community race). Before I joined GOTR and found out this was the end-of-the-season race, I had grand schemes of running the half distance this weekend, but I was so much happier to see my eight girls cross the finish line with big smiles on their faces!

I’m so proud of how they did and honestly a little surprised because they were not shy about letting us know throughout the season that the stretching and running wasn’t always their favorite thing…which is great!

The big idea about GOTR is that it isn’t really about the running anyway.  This season, we had some great conversations and I loved seeing the girls open up, consider new ideas and learn something about themselves every day.  I’ll get to see them once more tomorrow when we celebrate their accomplishments with a throwback (for me, anyway) banquet to Peter Piper Pizza!

5 thoughts on “Girls on the Run 5K

  1. Sounds like a fun and rewarding event! And I’m sure the pizza party at Peter Piper was so fun, I haven’t been there in ages 🙂

    I really want to get involved with Girls on the Run…I’ve been thinking about it for quite a while now, but I’m a little nervous that I don’t have enough knowledge (esp about running) to be very helpful. But maybe I just need to get over it and fill out the application 🙂

  2. Pingback: 30ish Days at a Time « Pretty Active

  3. Pingback: Fiesta Bowl Half-Marathon 2012 |

  4. Pingback: Girls on the Run Spring 5K |

  5. Pingback: Girls on the Run Spring 5K |

Leave a Reply

