And now I never have to leave the house again.

You know how people are always like, “OMG, I’d workout ALL the time and be SO skinny if I had a treadmill/elliptical/spin bike/insert medieval torture device here in my living room”?

Well, time to test that theory! Santa brought me a Bell Motivator bike trainer for Christmas because I was so good all year…or more like, my upcoming training plans scared me because I hate am not a huge fan of the bike and need Julia Roberts with me to help me forget I’m on it, so I told my mom about the wonders of the trainer.  Yeah, that was more like what happened.

I avoided the set up – super easy for people who know anything about bikes and relatively easy but intimidating for people who don’t – for the last few weeks, but now I’m ready to go.

No more bottom-glued-to-couch TV watching, bring on the sweat. I’m really excited about it and definitely think it will be  more of a welcomed addition to my house instead of taunting me as I walk by it and eventually turn it into a storage rack as seems to be the fate of many in-home fitness pieces.

Let’s see how long the “no trashy reality TV unless you’re on the trainer” rule lasts!

I took my first spin on it the other night and it was a little louder than I expected and I was kind of concerned I set it up wrong, but I read some reviews and found that’s just how it goes unless I want to get a specific bald trainer tire.  The little boy was very intrigued by it, so he came to investigate, but eventually got bored of his game of hitting my foot everytime it came around and took up post to watch from the office (which has clearly been taken over by puppy toys).

Another great fitness gift I got? Legit hiking shoes, so now I can run all over the beautiful trails in Phoenix and Scottsdale without slipping around!  This is another two-fer because hiking can be being social AND getting exercise!

If you could combine a fitness activity with something else what would you pick? If someone could invent a way for me to swim and read and the same time, I’d be overly thrilled.  I suppose I could do waterproof MP3 player + audiobook, but talk about losing count of my laps!

7 thoughts on “And now I never have to leave the house again.

  1. I would love to combine running with a good massage. Let’s make that happen :O) I’m excited to see how you like the bike set up in your house–it seems like such a great idea especially for the summer!

  2. I enjoy being on the trainer while watching the Biggest Loser. It’s like we’re sweating together. I just have to turn up the tv really, really, really loud.

  3. i would love to be able to run and read without my eyes bugging out. . i would be able to run forever. . . i also got a bike trainer for christmas but have not yet been able to figure out how to set it up. . .i did put out the suggestion for my room mate (boyfriend) to do it but have yet to get a response.

Leave a Reply

