Mental Grit

On Monday, my running coworker checked in with me on my half-marathon training progress.

::crickets::

Twenty minutes later, a plan titled Four-Week Half Marathon Training for the Lackluster Megan landed in my inbox.  His four-day-a-week plan was very considerately built around my favorite yoga classes, using my last 10K time to determine the goal time for race day.  I’m not a huge fan of that goal time (2:24), but acknowledging that my priorities and preferences have changed since I took on this goal, I’m releasing my expectations.

My charge today was interval training…a quick warm-up, then 8 x 4 minutes at 90% effort with 3 minute walk recoveries and a quick cool down.

I was super tight from a trail run on Monday (almost four miles/60 minutes on Pinnacle Peak that barely cut the mustard with the COACH who had prescribed a 30-minute easy run), but I decided tonight was a time for some mental grit and I was just going to do it.

So I loaded up with eight hair ties – so that I didn’t lose count and also had a visual reminder of my goal – and headed to the gym at my complex.  This was an adventure in itself, but once I got over that, I was ready to work.

OPI's You Don't Know Jacques 😉

Training runs have intimidated me before, so my mantra today was that it’s just a workout.  It’s not the entirety of the twelve-week plan that I balked at before, it’s not the long run I have to do this weekend or the even longer run the weekend after that, it’s just today’s workout.

Taking the pressure off the workout and taking the pressure off myself in general seems to have done the trick.  It was a great workout and I’m enjoying my rediscovered mental grit. I feel more commandments, intentions and goals coming on!

5 thoughts on “Mental Grit

  1. Pingback: Friday’s child is loving and giving. |

  2. Pingback: Runner’s High and Chocolate Milk |

  3. Pingback: It’s half-marathon week! |

  4. Pingback: Pat’s Run 2012 |

Leave a Reply

