Bad Habits

Last week, I found this What’s Your Yoga? flow chart and found that “my” yoga is vinyasa, which I practice, which led to the question…do I prefer it because it’s available or is that what I practice because it’s what I prefer?

I’ve tried Bikram (dislike) and Ashtanga (like) and would like to try Power, but for the most part hadn’t heard of many of these different practice styles…so wouldn’t you know it, my favorite Saturday instructor was out sick and her sub worked in one of these different styles – Kundalini.

He didn’t go into much about the philosophy, just mentioned that a certain posture was from Kundalini, but from Wikipedia, “Kundalini yoga is a physical, mental and spiritual discipline for developing strength, awareness, character, and consciousness. Considered an advanced form of yoga and meditation, its purpose is to cultivate the creative spiritual potential of a human to uphold values, speak truth, and focus on the compassion and consciousness needed to serve and heal others.”

Just from the few asanas and kriyas we did from Kundalini, the feeling was very meditative – repetitive, quick actions and breath with eyes closed – which is something that scared me off from yoga for a long time, so I’m not sure I would enjoy a whole class of it, but I enjoyed getting a small preview of a different yoga style.

The sub normally teaches restorative, yin and intro classes and pulled in a whole lot of everything to the class, but not in a messy way, I actually enjoyed it quite a bit. My favorite part of it was just moving…you know, like our bodies are supposed to?! Getting back to that and breathing is so important.

A lot of the class was about reversing the bad habits we have developed that wreak havoc on our bodies…sitting at desks and being too sedentary or conversely, going too hard on our bodies. There’s a reason occupational therapy and ergonomics careers are on the rise…our bad habits are hurting us!

So, this week I’ve been better at getting up from my desk to stretch out, particularly my hip flexors, which are terrible from sitting for so long and moving my neck and shoulders from the stare-at-screen position. I know my body will thank me for breaking these bad habits eventually!

One thought on “Bad Habits

  1. Pingback: Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old) |

Leave a Reply

