Tell me how you spend your time…

…and I’ll tell you who you are.

So, I also worked yesterday.  I reread my post and realized it sounded like I had quite the lovely, leisurely day because I didn’t mention that I also sat at a desk for eight hours, took some phone calls, worked on websites, put together a presentation and STS with my coworkers. 

I didn’t mention it because it wasn’t the focus of my day, plus I don’t believe you get an award for working, it’s just what you do.  Yesterday, I was much more excited about running and Katniss Everdeen and OPI’s My Chihuahua Bites.   

I have a pretty great job in that it’s engaging while I’m there, but it’s not consuming when I’m not (or when I am there, but shouldn’t be, which doesn’t happen). Work-life balance is really important to me and I don’t define myself by what I do for only 40 hours a week. Gen Y catches a little flack for this, but I’m pretty sure older people are just mad we figured it out earlier in life than they did.

For me, it started in the year after college when I realized I was falling into the eat-work-sleep trap and I promised that I would make every day about something other than work. 

I suppose I did kind of intend it in a selfish, but good-selfish way, but now it makes me think of a blog post I read a few months ago about how 20-somethings run because we’re jerks.  It gives us something to do and talk about doing to pretend we’re great and important to make us feel better that our lives are actually not at all what we expected.

I think the post got some mixed reviews, but I happen to think it’s hilarious.  Another question I dread being asked is “what’s new?”  I think I’ve got another few months left on the new house and new puppy, but it’s nice to also be able to bore people with stories about running and swimming and whatnot.

Anyway, I just wanted to say, yes, I do work, but ask me what I “do” and you won’t get a job title, instead I will have much more impressive and interesting (to me, anyway) things to tell you.

4 thoughts on “Tell me how you spend your time…

  1. I do NOT deal well with “what’s new?” I never know what to say. If I mention races I might come off as braggy. Sometimes there’s nothing new. It’s an odd feeling, to not know how to respond, especially since most people ask as a default, not because they *Really* want to know.

  2. Can you like rub some magic potion on me so that I cane feel the same? I started my journey to a life in theatre arts when I was 10 years old, and it has defined me ever since! And I mean I am so grateful to feel so passionately about what I do, but it gets consuming, and a bad day at work can sometimes feel like a bad day at life.

    • I tried theatre when I was around that age too! If I had been successful or had the passion to make myself successful, I might think very differently!

Leave a Reply

