LoziLu Mud Run

Things got a little dirty last Saturday. I ran the LoziLu Women’s Mud Run in Peoria!

Not only was it my first mud run, it was the inaugural event for the company! They kind of knocked it out of the park! I didn’t want to do a “mud” run that just involved running around and then jumping in muddy water, so I was really happy that the course map looked like this:

Plenty of fun and tough obstacles to distract from the fact that I was running around in the desert! It was on a motocross track, so the hills were pretty intense and it was a toasty morning. My ultimate mud run goals include a Super Spartan and a Tough Mudder, so this three-mile run was a nice kick in the pants that completing those races will require some more training!

We were going for a model pose...I think I just look mad.

Finding it was a bit of an adventure in itself, but we arrived only one wave late. I went with a girls meetup group I’ve been a part of for about a year now – like online dating, but for girlfriends! – but most of the attendees went in the first wave, so my friend Rachel and I completed the course just the two of us before meeting up with the others at the finishers’ festival.

Having driven 60 minutes to get there (okay, okay, it probably should have only taken 30), it was nice that there was stuff to do afterward – vendors with giveaways, beer and wine for finishers, watching the other racers – instead of just clean off (they had a “LL Spa,” which was really a bunch of sprinklers, but it got the job done) and leave.

I came away with just a bruised forearm, a little sunburn and a sore bum from the over/under section of the course, but I had a lot of fun!

2 thoughts on “LoziLu Mud Run

  1. glad to hear you had a great time! i was hoping to do the boston lozilu run this july but i have class that day, damn MBA work haha. glad to hear their inaugural event went well!

  2. Pingback: Going Rogue |

Leave a Reply

