Rigo’s First Hike

Work out five times a week WIN! With one day and probably a yoga class to spare, I got in five workouts this week!

On Monday, I got off on the right foot with a pre-work run, swam on Wednesday afternoon, ran AND did a hot yoga class on Friday (yes, a two-a-day) and this morning, took Rigo for his first hike!

I was up way too early, but it was 70 degrees and I’m pretty sure I heard some angels singing – it’s really been heating up around here lately, so it was glorious – so I made the most of it and headed out to a trail I have been meaning to get to since I moved to North Scottsdale.

Lost Dog Wash is a multi-use trail system that’s part of the McDowell Mountains. The trailhead is pretty close to me, but five minutes into the hike and you can completely forget that you’re anywhere near civilization! It’s all mountains and saguaros.  There were a handful of other hikers and trail runners and some mountain bikers, but it was mostly quiet.

I took a trail that led to overlook Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesin West and some pretty views of the city. Rigo did not quite understand the concept of stopping to enjoy the view after the hard work and was ready to keep going! It was an out-and-back trail, so back we went for just over four miles total. I’m glad I finally made it out there and really glad it’s a dog-friendly trail that’s so close!

One thought on “Rigo’s First Hike

Leave a Reply

