January (10th) Joiner

Sometimes I do loads of laundry that are just workout clothes, but for the most part, I just throw them in with everything else (regardless of color even, shh, don’t tell my mom). Then, when I fold, at least 1/3 of the load gets put in my workout drawer. Yesterday, though? There was one outfit (minus socks) and the shirt, actually, is a super soft Crossfit tee I got as a gift that I wore to bed instead of actually to Crossfit.

I think I’m doing 2013 wrong.

I got in some yoga and swimming and spinning last week, but for the most part, I was busy and then I got a touch of death on Saturday. Okay, maybe a slight exaggeration, but I never get sick and I got sick and even took my first sick day on Tuesday. Fortunately since then, I’ve been sleeping though the night and can mostly breathe out of my nose again!

I’m certain having a generally healthy lifestyle not only helped me not get sick for most of the season, but it helped me get better faster!

I’m itching to get back to training, so this morning  I packed up my lonely, little, clean workout outfit and headed to the gym after work to spend a little time with the treadmill to sweat out the rest of the death.

Confession: Before today, I hadn’t run since IronGirl. I’ve been keeping this on the DL because the only 2013 race on my calendar is RAGNAR! I am so excited about joining a team with fellow Arizona bloggers and getting to experience the race. We’re in it to finish and have fun, so I wasn’t scared to admit if I was just being lazy, but I wasn’t just being lazy.

I stopped running because after IronGirl, my foot (pinky toe side, middle, underneath) HURT! So much so that I didn’t want to run on it, so much so that it interfered with my everyday life, which is my signal to get it checked out.

So, I went to Dr. Dean at the Arizona Sports Medicine Center (he’s a runner, he gets it) and he suggested it was either tendonitis or…dun dun dun…a stress fracture, which was my big concern. It was still too early to tell from x-rays, so I was told to do everything under the sun that wasn’t running and come back in two weeks.

After a week, it actually started to feel better, only flaring up once after too much shopping (can you imagine such a thing?) and once after playing with my pup.

The second x-rays looked the same as the first, so Dr. Dean diagnosed peroneal tendonitis, likely caused from the slope of the road in Fountain Hills and said that I could go to physical therapy or just amp up my running and see how it goes. Since it was already feeling better, I opted for just going for it. Then the touch of death thing happened and that brings us again to today.

I ran two miles and the sweat was definitely a sweating out the death sweat, but I felt good and kept a good stride and my Taylor Swift dance party Pandora station lasted on just 10% battery. My foot? Currently being iced, so we’ll see how it goes. My mental block from the intimidation of not running for so long? Gone.

And now I’m ready to do 2013 right.

4 thoughts on “January (10th) Joiner

  1. I’m so glad it’s not a stress fracture! I have had the death since Sunday, and it had me sidelined-so has my hamstring. It sucks being out of the groove! I finally got a run and hot yoga in today, in addition to PT and I feel SO much better! I’m glad you got a goot sweat in today girl 🙂

  2. Pingback: There’s Just Something About Yoga Teachers |

  3. Pingback: Ragnar del Sol 2013 |

  4. Pingback: In the last 365 days… |

Leave a Reply

