For Boston

Yesterday, I saw a few of my running friends starting to change their Facebook profile pics to racing pics. As part of the racing community, I decided to change mine as well in support of and to show sympathy for the tragedy at the Boston Marathon. Here’s what I came across as I looked through my race pics from the past few years:

hm022512

neonrun3

Team End

Rogue after

This is what running is to me. It’s all smiles. It’s the friends that I’ve made in the running community. It’s feeling connected to strangers you share closed streets with for a few hours on early Saturday and Sunday mornings.

Running highs should take over your entire body, but now runners have to leave room for worry and doubt, fear and suspicion. It sucks. Our faces may be somber for now, but I know we’ll find our racing smiles again.

Leave a Reply

