Professional Underwear

Okay, first we talk underwear, then we talk professional. My good friend, Rachel, who motivates me to do lots of fun things, running and otherwise, made this happen last weekend:

UNdy5000

Undy50001

Yep, in undies in downtown Phoenix at the Undy 5000, a 5K to benefit the Colon Cancer Alliance and celebrate survivors.

I started off feeling good, but too strong because I had to pull back. I didn’t finish near where I would have liked at 32:03, but it was a gorgeous day and I ran in my underwear downtown (okay, not MY underwear).

The good news this month is…I started a new job! I am the marketing director for a top luxury real estate team in North Scottsdale. Remember way back when when I got my real estate license? Well, that came in handy, so now I’m helping the team market their listings and build their business and I can still sell houses too!

It was very hard to leave my last company I’d been with for three years and the people I worked with. On a more selfish level, one thing I always knew would be particularly hard would be giving up my morning bird hours.

In financial services, I worked the stock market hours, which in Arizona is 6 or 7 (depending on the time of the year because we don’t do daylight savings, shutupdontjudgeus) to 3 or 4. How wonderful is it to be done with work by 4 and have all late afternoon and evening for myself? Very wonderful.

The new job? 9 to 5! When I first learned that, I was wondering what the heck I was going to do with the first two hours of my day. Even on the weekends, I’m up by 7, but apparently, during my first week, I decided to sleep with the first two hours of my day!

I didn’t know I’d have to set an alarm to go to work by 9, but a. learning a new position is mentally exhausting, so I was tired and b. my bed is so comfy and I actually ended up sleeping in.

Today, though, I decided it was time. I was adjusted to the new routine and I was ready to add another layer to it. I got 5 tempo-y miles in. Still getting used to the tempo runs, but I know it’s the only way to improve my times. Morning runs are awesome, btw. Great weather, great views and a great feeling of accomplishment before my first cup of coffee!

Next up? Tackling adding new yoga classes in, since the schedule doesn’t really work with my much-loved 4:30 classes 😦

Next up tonight? Eating the chicken enchiladas that are cooking (a hot mess of about three different recipes) and catching up on this week’s Walking Dead.

3 thoughts on “Professional Underwear

  1. Pingback: Attack of the Holiday Sweets |

  2. Pingback: In the last 365 days… |

  3. Pingback: Easy Workout: Run the Dogs |

Leave a Reply

