Oh the Places You Will Go: Cape Cod

I tried to enjoy the cooler weather on the East Coast and save it as a memory for days like this…as happy as I am to be home with nothing to do for the first weekend in four weeks, it’s hot and it sucks. But my house is cold so I’m bundled up and currently binge-watching season three of Scandal on Netflix, trying to avoid Orange is the New Black because Sean and I are going to watch it together, but he’s working all weekend.

So, back to those cooler memories! Wednesday was definitely the coldest day we were there and we spent it driving through Connecticut and Rhode Island to Cape Cod.

Cape Cod was a thought in the back of our minds before we left for this trip, but I wasn’t sure we had enough time to squeeze it all in. Sean kept saying he didn’t think we could skip it and I’m a sucker for the ocean, so we decided we had to go!

We broke up the long drive by stopping in Newport, Rhode Island to visit an old 1890s mansion right on the coast. It was really cold and windy by the time we got there, but the overcast day seemed perfect to visit an old house with lots of stories to tell. It was very Gatsby- and Downton Abbey-esque.

IMG_3081 IMG_3083 IMG_3085

The mansion, or beach “cottage” as they called it, was in a little community full of other historic mansions that you can tour and others that are still private residences. I completely romanticized Rhode Island when I was younger and our short drive through did not disappoint!

We had decided to stay in Provincetown at the very tip of Cape Cod because Sean had never been to that part and it had beaches on both the cape side and the ocean side. By the time we got there it was in the 40s and threatening rain…not ideal for the start of a beach trip, but it meant it wasn’t very crowded and we got a beach-front room! The awesome staff even turned on our lights and cranked up the heat for our lateish arrival, thanks Surfside Inn!

IMG_3110

Standing just inside our patio door on the last day when it was a little sunnier.

The hotel was also next to an amazing restaurant (Fanizzi’s) that we went to the first night because we were worried about other places closer to downtown being closed and on the second night because it was just that good…and yes, it was more seafood! We also went out to the Squealing Pig pub for drinks on both nights because it had a great vibe.

I spent the mornings running. I attempted to run on the beach but first of all, it’s not as easy and glam as it looks on TV and when the tide was up, it came right up to the buildings just a bit down the beach, so I had to work my way back up to the street. I ran through the downtown area, down the pier and through some neighborhoods. It felt amazing. The temps were perfect and I loved the small town. Like I said, it wasn’t very populated then, but the houses were all being prepared for season and the way the stores are set up and the servers talk, you could tell it just gets crazy.

Oh yeah! Provincetown is also well-known as a LGBT community. Actually, before we went to the Squealing Pig, we tried a bar the hotel clerk recommended and honestly the bartender and townies there were kind of rude, which is why we moved on, but there was a drag queen sitting at the bar getting ready to go down to the basement and start their nightly dance party. Provincetown knows how to have a good time!

On Thursday for lunch, I finally got my lobster roll I’ve been wanting to try. It was good, but for some reason I thought it would be warm. Like warm lobster, butter and a toasty roll.  I guess some places do serve it that way, but the traditional lobster roll is cold lobster salad. It was still delicious and I imagine on a hot summer day it would be amazing to be at the beach and take a break for one!

Then we drove out to see the Atlantic Ocean side at Race Point Beach. It was so relaxing!

IMG_3092

We walked for a bit then sat and watched some seals playing in the water…really close by! There was a sign that great whites swim in the water (hello, Jaws) and to not swim near seals since they’re on the shark menu, but they were so close! On a warmer day, I totally would have been trying to go out and make some friends!

IMG_3099

It was cold, but the sun was shining. I read, Sean napped, it was lovely.

IMG_3101

It was everything I wanted an East Coast beach town to be! Like I said, I’m a sucker for the ocean, so I might call this my favorite part of the trip.

IMG_3105

Leave a Reply

