Exploring the PNW: Mount Pilchuck

I went on my first, AMAZING Washington hike two weeks ago and I’ve been dying to go again! The weekends since have been rainy and I’m not quite ready for that, so I’ll just tell you about my trek up Mount Pilchuck.

Pilchuck3

My coworkers are all very outdoorsy and active (prereq in Seattle, I think) and a group of them goes up a different mountain every weekend. When I told another coworker I was going with the group, the look on his face was pretty much like, oh my gosh, she’s going to fall off a cliff and die.

Some of their hikes can be pretty intense, but for my first one, they took it easy on me and we went to Mount Pilchuck. It’s a nice little 5.5 mile roundtrip, 2300 elevation gain hike in the North Cascades northeast of Seattle. It was pretty much the best day ever for it, not a cloud in the sky and cool.

It was a crowded day on the trail, so we went off the trail and scrambled up the rocks for about half of the hike. It was my first real experience with that – and with snow! – and it was so much fun!

Pilchuck2

Pilchuck5

 

The top is a little lookout hut some people spend the night in. You can see Mount Rainier and Mount Baker and Seattle and the Sound. Ridiculous views!

Pilchuck8

I think I did pretty well overall – no falling off cliffs and got an invite for another one sometime. On the way back down we took the trail, which was pretty much just ice, so there was a lot of slipping and sliding, but that was probably the hardest part. So we stopped and had a beer here:

Pilchuck7

Overall, it took eight hours! I wasn’t really expecting that, but my Chipotle burrito and 9pm bedtime never felt so good! Washington is a playground of countless hikes like this and I’m so excited to get out there and play!

 

Leave a Reply

